Hearthstone to get the Curse of Naxxramas

Blizzard have announced a new single player Adventure Mode for Hearthstone at PAX East.

The Curse of Naxxramas will be open over the course of 5 weeks, opening wing by wing. The Arachnid Quarter will be free for all players, but all other wings can be opened by purchasing them with in-game gold or real money.

The Curse of Naxxramas focuses on the Necropolis made famous in the World of Warcraft, home to the powerful lich Kel’Thuzard. This will make for a single player PvE Adventure available to everyone who plays the game. There are five wings in the dungeon, giving players the chance to earn new cards by defeating well-known bosses in the Warcraft universe, such as Maexxna, Loatheb and Patchwerk. Each boss drops a card and provides a new Hero Power. There will be 30 new cards total and all of them can be played right away

The content has its own Game Board with new interactive corners and there are nine unique Class Challenges. These put a difficult twist on everything and will test your Heartstone skills with a specific class. If you beat them, you’ll get new class-specific cards for your collection.

The content will release simultaneously across all platforms. Blizzard haven’t announced a release date as yet, but we’ll be reporting as soon as we learn more.

Check out the full announcement video from PAX East here…


About the author

Ray Willmott

Ray is one of the original founders of Expansive. He is also a former Community Manager for Steel Media, and has written for a variety of gaming websites over the years. His work can be seen on Pocket Gamer, PG.biz, Gfinity, and the Red Bull Gaming Column. He has also written for VG247, Videogamer, GamesTM, PLAY, and MyM Magazine,
Skip to toolbar